First concert???

OK. This has come up several times in conversations the last few weeks (most recently in the comments at State of Grace)
so’s I gotta ask:

What was the first big concert that you attended? (NO, your visit to see an orchestra in 6th grade does not count!! Think Rock, Think Pop,… if you must think country…)

For myself, I was between 6th and 7th grade and The Beatles were on their second (and large) tour of the US. They played in The Mistake By The Lake. My best friend Ginny and I were in the upper level seats somewhere in left field. The stage was centered in the stadium with several trailers in the outfield where the performers stayed.

We planned to sleep over that night, which made life easier for our folks. One drove us down to the stadium in the afternoon, and the other set picked us up afterward.

Why do I think that now parents would shudder about leaving 12 year old girls off in front of a stadium for 3 hours or so at a concert?

Whatcha Doing Today? Run some errands, straighten the studio and start playing with the ideas I had about those triangle shapes from August.

What’s on TV Tonight? Studio 60.
Steps? 10,247

8 responses to “First concert???

  1. Hi, I was 19 and I went to a Chicago concert.

  2. paula, the_quilter

    This one took me a while! It was supposed to be Jethro Tull at Red Rocks Ampitheater but I missed it. Which was a good thing as the concert was teargassed. My first one in reality was a triple show with Sugarloaf opening for Eric Burden & War who opened for Deep Purple at Island Grove. That was where I was accidently locked in the port-a-stall. Don’t ask.

  3. I was in the 9th or 10th grade and I went a friend and her father to the Daryll Hall and John Oates’ “Rock and Soul Part 1” tour when I lived in Germany. We sat in folding seats and I could play the Kids in the Hall “I Squish Your Head” coz Hall and Oates were that far away and small.

  4. Lucky you to have seen the BEATLES
    back in the day – my girlfriends got to see them but my mother wouldn’t let me go. ARGHH.

    First concert was THE ASSOCIATION
    (remember them? Cherish?) but the best was ELVIS in 1978 just a few months before he died.

  5. I loved The Association!! Complex harmonies make me so happy!!

  6. Sarah, Goon Squad Sarah

    My first concert was Bon Jovi and Cinderella at the Bayfront Center in St. Petersburg, Florida.

    I think I was 14.

  7. My first concert was Chuck Mangione at UC Berkeley’s Greek Theater, in the summer of 1977 or 78?? A complete blast of a day!

  8. Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers (still one of my favorite groups and I just saw them again over the summer). I believe I was 14.

Leave a Reply

