Tale of the Scale: 10/2/07

There was an every so slight weight loss; not enough to actually report on.

In getting ready to go off on my own for 3 months, Guido asked me to come up with a list of questions, which we went over this morning. Lots of workout information out there online; lots of it doesn’t apply to me apparently. So we checked form on a few items and he kept emphasizing his: while you are still in your weight-loss phase of exercise..

Just because I can, I went back and found my post from our first workout. It almost exactly a year ago (10.16.06). I spent 10 minutes on the treadmill at 2.5 MPH and a 5% incline and thought that was tough. We did stability moves for the rest of the half hour. I barely had energy to walk to my car, and I was sore for 2 days afterward. I weighed 158.5#.

Now I do 45 minutes on the treadmill hill program at it’s highest setting (7-15% inclines) at 3.8 MPH. I’ve moved on to advance levels of the stability moves and added a few new ones. I’ve move from using weight machines to using free weights and cable resistance systems. I work out an average of 90 minutes 4-5 times a week, and feel better when I’m done than when I walk in.

I’m still often sore for a day or two afterwards, but I’ve learned to appreciate the sore. Sore = Strong. And today while we were doing a heavy weight workout, I benched pressed 22.5# (in each hand) for the time ever! I’m anticipating a sore that will hit in about 2 hours and last for a day or so…

I also blog at A Stitch in Time and BlogHer on Saturdays and Mondays.

2 responses to “Tale of the Scale: 10/2/07

  1. As we’ve been following along, the increases in strength and endurance has been gradual, so it’s great to have a ‘look back’ at where you were a year ago!

    Congrats on the amazing progress! And congrats on sticking to the program! What an accomplishment!

  2. Thank you anonymous, who ever you are!! It was great for me, too, to see where I began. I was certain that I was more fit when I began.

Leave a Reply

