Tale of the Scale: Resources

As I continue along my fitness journey, I’m finding it fun to look for information on my own. Haven’t found the exactly what I want; but I’ve found enough to learn a few things and change up my individual workouts a bit.

What would be perfect? A workout template or workout plan that more closely corresponded with the workout I actually do.

Don’t get me wrong, there are hundreds of workout plans online. I could choose to do many of them. However, most of the ones for women are designed to NOT use freeweights or cable machines. They are designed for workouts at home with light or no weights. The best of these workouts emphasize moves on a Swiss ball (exercise ball). Since 1/3 to 1/2 of each workout is floor work, at least I can pull on these for switching up some of my moves on the mat.

Other exercise templates are weight lifting plans. These appear (to me) to be designed for men who are working out to be buff and big. Yes, I can adjust these workouts by the weight I use, but it feels more intense than I normally want.

Since I’m not concentrating on my weight anymore, maybe I’ll start detailing some of my workout plans. That way I can see when/where I need to change things up over time.

In the meantime, some inspiration for other women who are exercise fans:

Mizfit. She blogs fitness in a funny, honest fairly bad-ass way.

FitnessFixation. Lots of great information, but obscenity-rich text so be forwarned.

ExRx.com LOTS of information. Much of it for the professional, but also helpful.

Stumptuous. Serious weight lifting for women. I consume stumptuous.

Women’s Health Magazine

I also blog at: A Stitch In Time throughout the week and BlogHer on Mondays and Saturdays.

Leave a comment