Goal Setting: The Pull Up

I’ve set a new goal for myself. This is one Zandria has expressed, too, but I am putting my goal on a clock:

By October 16th, I will do an unassisted pull-up.

Krista @ Stumptuous says in Mistressing the Pull-Up:

Pullups are a cool exercise. They look tuff, they feel butch, they’re low-tech, and they are one of the best exercises for all-round upper body strength. Not only are your back, biceps, forearms, and shoulders involved, but you may also feel them in your abs. (Gawd, my abs were sore for a week after my first attempt at pullups… felt like I’d pulled my ribcage out through my nostrils)

Guido thinks I already can do one. Part of me is egging myself: when we work out together next to ask him to help me see if this is true. Part of me wants to hold back.

Today I was able to “practice” for this with a normal lat pull-down (there was a LINE at the assisted dip/pullup machine). I managed 3 sets at 60#, so I’m half-way there. And a 1x rep instead of a set? Maybe Guido is right.

Shoot. I want to aim for a hard goal that I accomplish on October 16th. OK, I’ll solicit any suggestions from my peanut gallery. (<a href=”http://mizfitonline.com/”>MizFit</a&gt;.. I am talking to you!)

What’s so special about that date? This will be the second anniversary of my first workoutthis time around. My first session with Guido. My first step to where I am today. It’s a big day for me. Last year I marked it privately and quietly. This year, I want to celebrate it.

Question is HOW?

Leave a Reply

