Missing, but not missing the gym

I haven’t been to the gym since Wednesday.

That by itself is a bit of a surprise to me.

A bigger surprise, however, is that I haven’t missed it.  I haven’t run around at night searching for ways to expend excess energy.  I haven’t been bouncing off walls.  Each day since Friday (the last time I was supposed to hit the gym) I have thought about going.  My gym bag is packed, my workout clothes are waiting, my workout plan is written.  Each day, though, I look at my plans and choose not to go.

I don’t miss it.

The last couple workouts were great: a challenging stabilization workout that combined upper and lower body moves that I alternate with a completely strength workout.  I actually like both of these. It’s not the workout that I’m avoiding.  Some part of me needs a rest, needs a break.

But break time is over.  Today, come hell or high water, I’m tying on my workout shoes, putting that gym bag in the car, and heading in to the gym.  A few days’ break is one thing; but, a new week means it’s time to get back to work.

Leave a Reply

