Rebuilding Strength

I thought the time I took off to heal my shoulder, then the time I’ve cut back because of a medical issue, wouldn’t have any great effect upon my strength.  (silly me!).

I thought that when it felt like working hard, even though I had cut back on my weight, it was just me being careful.

The strength was still there waiting.  I just wasn’t using it.

Silly me.

I can’t take 6 weeks off from strength training and keep the same level of strength.  Nobody can.

It became apparent to me Wednesday when I was on the exercise ball doing reverse-crunch-to-pushups.  Before my shoulder started hurting, I would try 3 sets of 15.  The first 10 were easy and I had to work through the last 5 pushups (and not always succeed).  The third set was a little harder than the first.  However, I could do it.  This time, I struggled to do 8 reps, and struggled to do a second set at all.

That’s when it struck me: I’ve lost strength.  When it feels like hard work at weight levels that below what I was doing 6 weeks ago, IT’S BECAUSE IT’S HARD WORK.  I’m working near my potential at the moment.  (well, duh!)  When I said I’d take 6-8 weeks to build back to to where I was working before, it was because I’m going to need 6-8 weeks to rebuild the strength.

I’m slow like that sometimes.

I was working with trainer Adam a bit (he’s making sure I know how to use that monster robo-cable machine and do the exercises correctly.  Hello core-stability work).  He gave me some tips to help, like do push-ups supersetted with tricep pull-downs to shock the muscles and speed up the strength building.  He, too, reminded me that it’s going to take 6-8 weeks to recover.  Hmm.. looking at the calendar.. just in time for the New Year.

One response to “Rebuilding Strength

  1. I LOVE THAT
    because it IS HARD WORK.

    a friend of mine was Mr Olympia for years and would always say:

    EVERYONE WANTS TO BE A BODYBUILDER BUT NO ONE WANTS TO LIFT THE HEAVY A** WEIGHTS

    same thought….different execution of the phrase :)

Leave a Reply

