Mental Limits

Funny.

This week I started doing some plyo work at the gym.  It’s completely new to me and real stretch.  The idea is to jump up -pulling my heels up to my butt- and land on a box.  It’s not a truly difficult thing to do physically; for me, the hard thing was believing that I could.

All my life I have known that I am uncoordinated.  My family and friends would agree with me about this.  I trip, I slip, I fall.  It took me 3 years to learn to ride a bike.  (yet, at the same time, I could climb a tree better than anyone else!)

When Adam explained what I would be doing, my first step was to tell him which locker they could find my stuff in the locker room (so they could get my medical card).  He thought I was joking; I’m not sure I was.

So jumping up onto a medium sized box was an exercise more of my mind than my body.  The first time I did it, I didn’t think I simply jumped.  Successfully.

The second time I went to do it, every time I started to move doubt froze me.  Every time I went to move, my mind blanked in doubt and I could not move.  Try as I might, I could not convince my body that I could repeat my earlier success.

Adam moved me down to the small box; it’s only about 10″ off the ground.  Less threatening, I could do it. I’m still bothered by the whole thing though.  A lifetime of believing my physical incompetance limits me.

Do you believe things about yourself that stop you?  Do you let other people believe things about themselves that limit them?  Or do you reach further and encourage others to follow?

One response to “Mental Limits

  1. Oooohhhhhhh, yeah. I have a few mental limits that I have to watch out for. After blowing out my back and my knee, I tend to be super-careful about anything that I think might POSSIBLY stress them. I would have had the same anxiety about the plyo, but because of the impact on my knee. And I go through the mental gymnastics even though I know that the odds of blowing out my knee again are pretty small after all this time. But still. (My back still has legitimate problems, but I’m probably over-paranoid about that, too.)

Leave a Reply

