Peanut Sauce

I have to admit that Peanut Sauce is one of my summertime go-to sauces.  My modus-operandi for summer suppers is to quickly throw some meat and veggies on the grill and serve them.  It’s great, but the repetitive nature makes it really boring after a while.  So sauces are necessary to add some pizzazz.

Thai Peanut Sauce is fast to make, last a couple weeks in the fridge, and can be used on meats, veggies, whole wheat pasta.  Anything you’d desire for a quick change of pace summer meal.

Thai Spicy Peanut Sauce.
This is adapted from Barbara Tropp’s The Modern Art of Chinese Cooking.

3-5 cloves of garlic (Tropp uses 10… but I found that then I couldn’t taste anything except the garlic. Not the sauce I was going for…). I actually prefer to use roasted garlic, but that means planning ahead.

1/2C Soy Sauce
1/2C all natural peanut butter (it has no transfats… so it’s healthier).
5 TBS. Sugar
1-2 TBS Thai Kitchen Red chili sauce (depending on your tolerance for heat)
1 TBS. vegetable oil
1 TBS. lime juice

Mince the garlic in your food processor or blender. Add the rest of the ingredients, and puree for 1 minute (is you are using a blender, pulse the blend for about 10 second intervals).

Let the flavors blend for atleast 2 hours.

One response to “Peanut Sauce

  1. I love making this and havent ever tried that Thai Kitchen sauce.

    I trust all things Deb :) so I shall look for it.
    whole foods?

Leave a Reply

