I Am What I Eat

Food.

Michael Pollan’s oft-quoted line from In Defense of Food is a good place to start. I try to:

Eat food. Not too much. Mostly plants.

It wasn’t that long ago that I wouldn’t make this claim for myself. While I spurned “fast-food nation” except for the occasional visit to KFC, many of my meals were composed of food items made by someone else, at a place somewhere else, and at sometime in past. It wasn’t that easy to look at a dish and identify it’s pieces. I was all about throw-it-together quickly from the freezer.

Slowly over the past two years I’ve been moving back to the idea of eating the way I did when I was child. When you bought simple foods and ingredients from a grocery store: carrots, cabbage, apples, pork chops. When you then took these simple ingredients home and prepared them to be eaten. They were peeled, sliced, chopped, steamed, broiled, baked. In the summertime, they were grilled.

My food doesn’t come with a nutrition label. It typically has one ingredient and you can identify that for yourself: carrot, mango, lettuce, brown rice.

That what I’m moving to do now. Today I try to eat:

Vegetables. Fresh and whole when available, frozen for greater seasonal variety. The only canned item in this section would be diced tomatoes.

Fruit. Fresh, whole and in season. Frozen berries to supplement since their season is so short. Canned applesauce occasionally.

Whole Grains. Brown rice,  bulgur wheat, polenta, steel-cut oats. Grains that come in small bags or boxes. Grains that you cook with water. You can look at a small pile of these on a plate and know what kind of grain it is. Occasionally I eat a processed grain (a flour product) such as a whole grain slice of bread, tortilla, or pasta. Maybe some cereal. But these processed grain products make up less than 1 serving/day.

Legumes and nuts. Cooked dried beans (since we are a small household, I do usually go for the canned varieties), dry roasted nuts or nuts in the shell. The beans give me a lot of my protein and the nuts provide quality types of fat.

Fats. Olive oil and canola oil are my fats of choice.  A little butter every once in a while, but I try to limit my consumption of saturated and animal based fats.

Meat/Fish/Poultry. About 3-4 days a week I might eat one serving of animal protein.  Fish, turkey, chicken and occasionally beef. I try to be strict about only eating this on days I push heavy weights.

Protein powder supplements. I cannot get enough protein in my diet without too much fat unless I supplement my diet with some protein powder.

I have a deal with myself. I have permission to eat what I want when I want without guilt. So I can choose to stop at KFC and eat a 3 piece snack box and order an extra biscuit with fake butter and honey. I can choose to have cake or pie or cookies if I want them. Nine times out of ten, when I ask myself if I want these items, the answer is “No.” So I leave them for another day.

I am not giving up eating good tasting food. If you ever tasted my grilled veggies with balsamic vinegar, you’d know that I eat for taste.

I am not giving up anything that’s important to me.

What are you made of?

Edited from a post: 5/20/2008.

4 responses to “I Am What I Eat

  1. Our diets are remarkably similar, except that instead of protein powder, I have brownies, cupcakes and lots of nonfat milk!

    OK, perhaps not so similar then…

    :)

  2. I pretty much eat this way, too, although I tend to eat more fish and fewer legumes and nuts (because I can’t digest them well). And I don’t tend to eat a lot of protein powder, just because I eat more animal protein.

    Also, I left a response to you over on my blog, but the HRM I’m using is the Mio Shape: http://the-gadgeteer.com/2002/12/14/mio_shape_heart_rate_watch_review/

    I got it at Sports Chalet for around 50 bucks (40? 60? somewhere in there), and they had a MILLION different Mios that all did different things. But the Mio in general got really good reviews on Amazon, and so far I really like it.

  3. Im made of what youre made of.

    except for when Im not :)

  4. Yes. Totally agree with everything above. Reading Food Matters right now and it is similiar! And, I love Hammer Nutrition’s Whey Protein in my green/frz berry smoothies.

Leave a Reply

