The Deadlift

At the beginning of this year, I began dead lifting.  If you are unfamiliar with this move, I will explain. It’s deceptively simple: you grab a heavy weight on the ground and stand up.  When done correctly, it works nearly every major muscle in your body.  It lets you function with bad knees, a bad lower back.  It can prevent a bad back. When done incorrectly, it can destroy you.

At the time, almost no one in my gym dead lifted. I got my instructions from books and YouTube, and strained to see past others to check my form in the mirror.  I went to forums to ask questions and get assistance.  I started with bare barbell (45#) feeling the difference between “right” and “this is going to hurt my back if I continue.”

The idea of the dead lift as an important part of weight lifting finally started to filter into the gym, and more and more people would perform them. I would applaud when I saw a young man performing that move with perfect form.  A well-performed dead lift is a thing a beauty.  Today, rarely a day goes by when I do not witness someone trying this exercise.  This includes women.  Women come back and pick up the 20# or 30# bar and go through the movements for their 3 sets of 15 reps.

Did I mention?  Last time I lifted, I set a personal record of 135#. Yes, it’s taken me the better part of 9 months.    While I’m happy to see women embracing an important exercise – I truly wish that they would push themselves to actually work harder when they do it. It’s not uncommon to hear men -and women who strength train- joke about women using “pink Barbie weights”.  A women doing deadlifts with 20# is as sad.

I think FOR WOMEN deadlifting is perhaps the most important weight lifting exercise that they can do.  Why?

  1. As I said earlier, it is a full-body workout that hits every major muscle group.
  2. Think about how you spend your day: picking up and carrying children, pets, groceries, clothes, etc.  Imagine one exercise that when you do it regularly prepares you for your every day life -and makes the repetition of those movements easier.
  3. As a full-body exercise, this also stresses the major bones in our body-causing them to lay down more calcium and grow stronger.  This would include the lower back, hips, shoulders, thighs.  Exactly the bones that weaken in osteoporosis.

Do you Dead?  Will you consider it in the future?

3 responses to “The Deadlift

  1. Hi Deb!

    I do Dead lifts, and it’s definitely one of my favorites.

    When my workouts are starting to bore me and I’m not seeing results anymore, I alternate between a dead lift day (with some other exercises), a rest day, a squat day (with some other exercises), and it always jolts my body back on track!

    I have incredibly bad posture, and I’m convinced that dead lifts helped with that by strengthening my back, and I actually pick heavy things up without hurting myself anymore (lol).

  2. Yes, I dead lift, but not as heavy as you! Just curious: have you seen any changes in your body that you attribute to dead lifting?

  3. Not enough women do these.

    hell ID NEVER have started if I didnt lift with my husband whos a deadlifting MACHINE :)

Leave a Reply

