Thinking about Food…

I’ve been thinking a lot about food recently.  It’s odd- I have little interest in cooking most evenings, and almost no inspiration for making something for supper.  Yet, at the same time, I’m fascinated with finding healthier foods -and reading about healthier growing and production of foods.

Today I traveled down to the Berkeley to investigate a few new sources.  Hit a really nice organic market where I picked up a few things.  They had a much wider assortment of winter squashes than I’ve seen at grocery stores or Farmer’s Markets.  Probably 8-10 different kinds.  I picked up two.  One is called “confetti” is looks like a variation on the acorn squash.  The other is reddish-orange squash that looks Asian in origin.

Also picked up teeny little avocado – a whole one will be a serving for me -so no wondering what to do with the rest of the avocado.

Then we went to a butcher shop that sells organic and free range chickens and some grass-fed beef.  Didn’t pick up too much -OMG, it’s about 2-3x the price of the crappy stuff you get in Safeway.  Picked up a roasting chicken -some boneless chicken thighs on sale and a couple freshly made sausages.

This evening, a friend posted a message (on Facebook or Twitter – I can’t find the exact link) point me to a Huffington Post article by Nicolette Han Niman on Avoiding Factory Farm Foods: An Eater’s Guide. Exactly what I trying to do today.  Among the things Niman says:

To avoid the products of factory farms, I became something of a food detective. My groceries were the subjects of my investigations. Where were they coming from and how they were produced? I roamed grocery store aisles carefully reading product labels, but there was little to no information about the conditions in which the animals were raised. I wrote letters to food companies with questions about what they fed their animals, but the letters went unanswered. The food system’s lack of transparency was frustrating. Eventually, I mostly gave up on supermarkets and began exploring new ways to get at the good food I was seeking. Although the task was daunting, my goal was simple: I wanted all my food to come from places I would enjoy visiting.

I recommend reading it when you’ve got the time.

When I finished reading this article (and saving it my EverNote files) I looked over the other suggested articles and found another speaking to me: Darya Pino: Are You Eating In the Matrix?

I’ve learned to refer to Twinkies and food from McDonald’s as products and not foods because, when you think about it, they really aren’t foods. Sure you can eat them, but that just makes them a novelty-something akin to beating up your friends in Mortal Kombat.

“Do you believe that me being stronger or faster has anything to do with my muscles in this place?” -MorpheusReal food nourishes your body by providing essential building blocks for your cells and organs. The human body evolved alongside real food and is adapted to digest it.

Edible products on the other hand were specifically designed to fool your brain and sensory perception, but your body, cells and organs have no idea what to do with them.

Twinkies and McNuggets are engineered. They do not come from the earth and are not food. Twinkies were created in the Matrix.

Matrix edible products and food whose home I’d to visit. Two different ends of the spectrum on today’s food industry. And even more for me to think about.

What do you think about when eating your food?

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
Leave a Reply

