A New Direction

Yes, my shoulder is hurt, making it a challenge to do some of the things I’ve planned to do.  However, in a year of approaching life as its positives, I’m choosing to adjust my expectations.

There are a couple activities when it comes to fitness that I’ve pushed to the back burner.  Ignored.  Not had time for or interest in: running a race, agility work, plyometrics.

These are all valid activities – I had to read about agility and plyo work when I took my cert. test.  I even bought an agility ladder and tried out some of the activities a time or two.

Then left it.

However, these activities are activities that now I have a good 6-8 weeks to DO.  Six to eight weeks to learn new skills, understand how they fit into the life of middle-aged women who are not athletes and how I can feel comfortable working them into clients’ plans.

So I’ve started training for the Couch to 5K.  I’ve even found a likely 5K race to run in -and a charity to raise funds for.  (wait- I’ll hit you up for that later.  Promise).

I’ve written my weeks plan to spend at least one day doing plyo and agility drills.  Which so tickled TrainerBud Adam, that he’s agreed to work out with me the first time or two – for his own good and to make sure I know what I’m doing.

The reason for these?

Agility -like it sounds- is the ability to move your feet in an efficient manner. Quickly and in a variety of directions.  One good reason to give these a try: they can improve my less-than-stellar coordination and concentration.  Speedier thought processes?  Another reason to give Agility a try!

Plyometrics is all about power.  Jumping and hopping.  These activities should translate into stronger lifts when I get back to the weights.

So, not a set back- a new direction.  I’m kind of excited!

One response to “A New Direction

  1. Interesting–I totally never thought about the impact of agility training on cognitive skills.

    Given how physically NOT agile I am, I’m not sure I like the implications…

Leave a Reply

