Roasting vegetables

Since one of my dietary goals has been to eat more vegetables, I’ve experimented all winter with roasting them. Cutting every edible veggie into pieces – usually halves or quarters- gently rubbing with some olive oil, sprinkling with a little salt. I slide the veggies into a medium hot over (325-350F) and let them stay until they tender and browned.

I’ve discovered some favorites that I never would have expected:

  • cabbage becomes sweet and delicate when roasted
  • kale- goes from perfect to burned quite quickly- but it’s a tasty munch when grabbed in time.  Be sure to check kale after about 10 minutes.
  • any winter squash.  Butternut, hubbard, anything.
  • asparagus
  • brussel sprouts

As the weather get warmer, I’ll switch from roasting to grilling.  Not all of these veggies will be available during the summer months so I won’t really have to wonder how they translate.

Now what summer vegetables will be a surprise on the grill this summer?

2 responses to “Roasting vegetables

  1. When people tell me they don’t like vegetables, I always ask…

    …have you ever tried roasting them?

    There’s something about the crispy, salty, smoky flavor that makes EVERYTHING better. :)

  2. Have you tried roasting carrots? I sprinkle mine with dried thyme then roast until lightly browned. Corn on the cob grills well, just make sure to soak the corn, husk and all, in water for about 30 minutes before grilling in aluminum foil. Bon appetit!

Leave a Reply

