Coping with Injury

Yet again – or still- I am coping with injury and the changes that injury brings.  In my case, it’s been going on so long that I’ve moved beyond the desire to push the boundaries and slipped into the ennui that all too often signals giving up.

I have been told that I may not do any exercise or movement that brings my surgically repaired arm over my head.  There is an impingement point in the cartilage that must scar over -and cartilage is very slow to “heal”.  So until at least June I still have somewhat limited movement.

Although, when I think about it, very little is really restricted from me because of this directive.

On top of that, I pulled my groin in December and that injury is very slow to heal.  It may be June before it completely stops aching. Until that happens, I’ve lost about 20 degrees of motion in my left leg.  Unable to bring it fully up toward my chest or fully wide to put on and tie a shoe.

I’m feeling the fatigue of constant injury and I’m not sure how to address this.  I could

  • “soldier on” -doing limited upper body and lower body work as the pain allows.
  • stop completely until I feel completely healed, then begin over again.
  • I could simply quit.

I don’t have the energy at the moment to fight this.  How have you dealt with long-term injury?  How do you get into your head and convince yourself to push through?  What about when you can’t push hard enough to feel or see any reward in trying?

2 responses to “Coping with Injury

  1. Injury sucks! It really does. But simply quit? What would that look like? I can’t imagine you choosing that. I know it is hard hard hard to be patient and also creative when you’re hobbled in one part or another. But I know you can do it. When I had to wear a cast boot for 6-8 weeks my trainer had me pretty much working all 3 of my remaining extremities so I got cardio AND strength training in. It was awkward, but definitely better than nothing. What would you do if an injured client came to you (as a trainer) and asked for help? I bet you’d help them come up with something… you can do it!

  2. Sorry to hear about the injury. I don’t have any great ideas, but just want you to know I get it, I totally get it. Hang in there!

Leave a Reply

