Outta My Head

Today I was in the middle of a workout – thinking all the things I’ve been thinking recently:

  • I don’t want to do floor exercises because I hate getting down on the ground.
  • why aren’t I breaking into a sweat?
  • Is my form still good?  Because if my form is failing, I should stop this exercise
  • Remember when I used to do this harder, longer, supersetted?
  • I wish I weren’t working out alone…
  • I need to get out of my head.

Yeah, that last one is the biggy.  I spend way to much of my workout time thinking about things not directly associated with working out.  I get bored, get distracted, get lost in my head.  I almost called a trainer friend to do some training with him just to get out of my head.

I forget how much of physical training is actually mental training -and that this mental training needs to be developed as much as the physical muscles do.  But how do you do this?

  1. Just like physically training, you have to start small, challenge myself bit by bit, and make sure I’m constantly changing things up.
  2. Forget where I WAS, respect where I AM, and know that I have the mental strength to grow.
  3. Then CHALLENGE MYSELF.  To do more, to go further, to do what I’m whining about inspite of how I feel.

 

One response to “Outta My Head

  1. Oh, if I could only cut off my head while working out….

Leave a Reply

