Starting Anew

Thursday I received a diagnosis on my gimpy hip that wasn’t unexpected, but that puts a new point on my near future: the only thing that will make my hip better is a new hip.

Now I have several friends who have had hip replacements. They are almost becoming commonplace. And all of these replacements are on people younger than myself. What does this mean for the near future?

With six months of rest, I have lost a great deal of strength endurance even though I have not lost a great deal of overall strength. So, in order to get myself in the best shape to recover quickly from surgery, I will concentrate on doing MORE not heavier. Can I leg press 100# for 3sets of 15? Not yet, but I will work up to this before I move up to the next weight.

Leave a Reply

